Defending the BB against RFI

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Defending the BB against RFI

I have been playing poker since the 1990s, well before the TV boom, and even before it was possible to play no limit most places (many places only had limit).

I decided to take Jonathan Little's course, and while I know I am not a perfect player by any means, there is only one thing that has really surprised me so far, and even leaves me thinking "this can't be right" after I consider it carefully. That is the frequency recommended to defend the BB against a RFI, which seems to exceed half the deck depending on position. My own inclination would be to defend the BB to a RFI something similar to the Btn charts, and that is apparently way too tight.

I am left with this question: if my opponents do not raise as frequently as the solvers would recommend (they do not, especially from the Btn), and when they do raise they raise a much larger amount than recommended here (5x RFIs are just about standard), what would that do to these chart recommendations. Of course it would tighten them up, but would it tighten them up by a large margin?

Sorry, quick edit, because I confusingly said BB where I meant Btn in one place, which causes the question to not make sense.
    Last edited by RCMorea; 03-13-2021, 02:47 PM.

The charts assume that our opponent is also playing a fundamentally sound strategy.

If our opponents are not then we definitely need to adjust our ranges to exploit them.

If they open too wide, we should defend wider.

If they open too large, we should defend tighter.

Actually quantifying this without more information is a lot tougher.

What effective stacks are you talking about? MTTs or cash? What does their range look like? What is the opening size?

Comment