Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Nitty fold at 5NL?

Hi all,

I'm new to the PC.com community, just signed up for Premium and am working through the Cash learning path this week.

I played this hand today and am curious as to your thoughts on my thoughts. I didn't take the time to think things through during the hand.

I had only sat down an orbit or so prior to this hand, villain hadn't done anything notable in the short time so far.

PokerStars - $0.05 NL (6 max) - Holdem - 6 players
    Hand converted by PokerTracker 4

Hero (CO): 110 BB
    BTN: 110.6 BB
    SB: 61 BB
    BB: 108 BB
    UTG: 115.2 BB
    MP: 103.2 BB

SB posts SB 0.4 BB, BB posts BB 1 BB

Pre Flop: (pot: 1.4 BB) Hero has Q:spade: J:spade:

fold, fold, Hero raises to 3 BB, BTN raises to 9 BB, fold, fold, Hero calls 6 BB

Flop: (19.4 BB, 2 players) 5:diamond: T:spade: Q:club:
    Hero checks, BTN checks

Turn: (19.4 BB, 2 players) K:spade:
    Hero bets 10 BB, BTN calls 10 BB

River: (39.4 BB, 2 players) 2:spade:
    Hero checks, BTN bets 91.6 BB and is all-in, fold

BTN wins 37.8 BB

I raised QJss from the cutoff. I called the 3-bet from villain here as I feel his 3-bet range is going to be widest from the BTN and my hand can be played well post flop I think.

On the flop, with top pair marginal kicker and a back door straight and back door flush coming in to the 3rd nut flush, I elected to check to the pre-flop 3-bet aggressor in position. Question here: Who is the pre-flop aggressor here, I made the initial raise and he 3-bet from position.

Is this a better spot to bet here? Check/call or check/raise if he bets?

Villain checks behind.