AA Well Connected Flop

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AA Well Connected Flop

Here is an interesting scenario that I came across last night, I was on the HJ With AsAc, the stacks are $1200 effective. 1/3 game

I Raise to $10 the CO (A Good Reg that I've played with many times over the past year) Raises to $35, folds to me I make it $145, he calls.

Flop: JsTs6h,

I lead $175. CO Raises $575. Should I shove? Should I call? If I call How do you continue?

Having the As in your hand is really significant here. A lot of players (wrongly) think that the BDFD is a backup if they're facing a set, or that it takes away an out if they're facing a FD. In fact, having the As makes a draw much less likely, and weights your opponents range more towards strong made hands.

As long as you think he would play KK or QQ like this, I would say shove.

Comment

Noob here,

would calling to showdown be a bad move here? He could easily have flushdraw with a straightdraw on top, if he's raising over 50% of his stack wouldn't he prob call any shove...especially if he's dead set on realizing his equity anyway?

Comment

• jamtay317
        jamtay317 commented
        Editing a comment
        Yes, Calling to showdown here is bad. the reason that it is bad is villain will almost never have Jx, or Tx in his range. he could have something like KsQs but the more likely candidates are AA, KK, QQ, JJ, TT here. I am not really sure if he would call a 4bet with TT here.

If you have played with this villain many times you should have a good idea of what his range looks like in this case. On top of that you should be aware of what your image is against him.

With that being said you should be asking yourself:

1. Is he capable of raising a hand like QQ or KK in this spot?

2. What does his 3-bet range look like?

3. Is he capable of bluffing in this spot?

4. Do you ever 4 bet to 5x of the 3 bet with anything OTHER than AA or KK?