Newbie- where to start?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie- where to start?

I am completely brand new to the game and a week ago was not even sure of hand hierarchy. I went out and bought Small stakes NLHEM.......looks like this is probably not the best place to start. I counted cards at bj for a year but it became unprofitable due to my small bank roll when weighed against travel costs.....absolutely no games in my region. Anyway, I really need to start with some basic resources. I have tried to watch JL's vids on youtube and to be be honest it's often greek. I have no frame of reference. I need some suggestions as to where to start- books...software...and principles that I need to master. My own intuition seems to point towards being able to look at flops and nail down outs quickly and subsequently weighing that against equity and how often I should be folding. I just need some direction on some specific basic things I need to understand and master. As of now I just feel like i'm guessing.

JL has this video for beginners that could be a good place to start: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1owcipR3wqA

Comment

• drs13
      drs13 commented
      Editing a comment
      Thanks for the response!

• RealJPB
      RealJPB commented
      Editing a comment
      No problem. I’m sure some of it will be review to you but hopefully some new info too.

Yah. This was a bit too basic. I need some things I can really start sinking my teeth into and grinding at to improve. I'm looking to put years of slow grinding and learning into this and hopefully be profitable at it one day- not a weekend poker trip w/ the boyz in atl city. I've been getting destroyed online. Done w that for a while until I can plug some leaks.

Comment

• CrazyEddie
      CrazyEddie commented
      Editing a comment
      Raise your edge

• drs13
      drs13 commented
      Editing a comment
      Thanks. Very helpful. I know exactly what to do now.